Hazelnut and chocolate baci

Posted on November 12, 2015

4


I’m feeling sufficiently bad for being MIA for so long, but trust me when I say there is a good reason for this. I always have reasons.

As old as this joke is, it is true, I’ve been embarking on the biggest bake off of my life. There is a bun in the metaphoric oven. Tiredness and nausea aside, once you get out of the habit of regular posting, it’s so hard to get back into the game! But this is a good time as any to get back onto the bandwagon. That and the fact that I may potentially be in nesting mode…

It also happens that I was gifted a big bucket of roasted hazelnuts that were just begging to be used up.

Cookies are a great way to use up nuts. They’re easy to make, easy to store and I’ve yet to meet someone who refused a cookie! I’ve used this recipe from goodfood.com.au to make hazelnut and chocolate baci a number of times now.

_MG_9995

It’s a great recipe, but two comments:

  1. I don’t understand how the author can yield 60 filled cookies in a single batch. Even when making a double batch I only get around 90 cookies or ~45 filled cookies. Admittedly my cookies are not entirely uniform in size, and on average they’re probably 3.5cm in diametre so they’re not huge by any stretch! Hers must be tiny compared to the ones I make…_MG_9999
  2. I prefer to use ganache as a filling instead of just melted chocolate. Reason being that if it’s just melted chocolate, the centre is a bit hard for my liking. I find that adding a bit of cream to the chocolate makes it a nicer consistency (ie. a softer filling), but you are more than welcome to stick with the original chocolate only filling.

Oh and as I mentioned above, I tend to make a double batch but the recipe I provided is for a single, so obviously my photos will show twice the amount of cookie than the recipe below will yield.

RECIPE – Hazelnut and chocolate baci (~makes 22 filled cookies)

Based on recipe from goodfood.com.au

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup of roasted hazelnuts (skins removed)
  • 1 cup icing sugar
  • 125g softened butter
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • 1 cup plain flour
  • 75g dark chocolate
  • 30mL thickened cream

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C or 160°C fan forced.
  2. Place hazelnuts and icing sugar into a food processor and blitz until finely ground._MG_9974
  3. Add softened butter and process until it comes together in a creamy dough.
  4. Transfer the dough into a large mixing bowl. Add in lemon zest and flour. Gently mix until the flour is incorporated into the mixture. To avoid overmixing, I prefer to use my hands because you have better control and it’s quite therapeutic!_MG_9979
  5. Scoop ~1 teaspoon mixture and form into a sphere. Place spheres of dough onto lined baking trays and bake for 12-15 minutes or until golden and the tops are dry to touch. Allow cookies to cool completely._MG_9985_MG_9990
  6. To make ganache, place dark chocolate and cream into a heat proof bowl over a pot of boiling water. Stir until chocolate has melted. Set aside and allow to cool before using.
  7. Spread chocolate onto base of cookie, then sandwich with another cookie of a similar size. Rinse and repeat._MG_9998

Aren’t these little morsels just so cute? Who wouldn’t love a hazelnut chocolate kiss? 😉 And even if you can’t be bothered making the chocolate filling, the nutty cookies are pretty superb on their own.

