Apple pastry roses

Posted on April 27, 2015

1


The latest food related social media buzz I’ve noticed are these roses made from apple slices and pastry. It popped up on my youtube feed and apparently it’s all over facebook. I can see why. They’re pretty and quite simple to make.

_MG_9879

My discovery of these little treats came just in time for my favourite (read: only) niece’s birthday. So I decided to try them out for her birthday party. I made mine with leftover caramel sauce, but most recipes I’ve seen usually uses a jam in a complementary flavour or just simply with a dusting of cinnamon sugar.

RECIPE – Apple pastry roses (makes 9) Ingredients:

  • 2 medium apples
  • 3 sheets of puff pastry
  • ~180mL caramel sauce
  • juice of 1 lemon or lime
  • icing sugar for dusting

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C.
  2. Core apples and cut into halves. Thinly slice apples._MG_9867
  3. Place apple slices in a pot of water along with the juice of lemon (or lime) juice. The citrus is there to prevent the apple from discolouring. Bring to boil then turn off heat and allow apples to sit in the hot water for ~5 minutes until softened. Drain and reserve.
  4. Cut sheet of pastry into 3 even strips. (Packaged puff pastry in Australia comes in a standard size of 24x24cm.)
  5. Spread ~1 tablespoon of caramel sauce along the top half of the pastry strip._MG_9868
  6. Layer apple slices along the pastry strip so that about half of the curve is above the pastry and slices of apple overlap each other._MG_9869
  7. Bring the bottom half of the pastry strip up to fold the pastry in half and roll pastry from one side to the other._MG_9870_MG_9871
  8. Place roses in muffin pan and bake at 180°C fan forced for 35-40 minutes or until inner layers of pastry has cooked through. If the outer layers are getting too golden, cover with aluminum foil for the final ~10 minutes.
  9. Dust with icing sugar. Best served warm, with extra caramel sauce and a scoop of ice cream :)._MG_9878

These are quite a delight for your sights. Nothing melts my heart quicker than when a little cherub tells me something I’ve made for them is beautiful!  I’m so happy my darling niece loved the finished product.

…But in the spirit of full disclosure, the little bub did not eat her treat. It was taken up by the adults instead! And maybe she was just smart enough to know that this treat is more about looks than taste. Don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing wrong with the taste, and in fact some of the adults really quite liked it, especially those with less of a sweet tooth than me. I made that comment because personally I find the ratio of pastry to filling not quite right for my tastes. I mean compare it to an apple pie or tart tartin; there is far too little apple and sauce to pastry. You need all that pastry as structural support to maintain the shape of the rose, so you end up mostly tasting the pastry instead of the filling. Which makes for a slightly bland treat and why I think it’s best served up with extra caramel sauce and side of ice cream.

