Japan trip 2015

Posted on March 18, 2015

2


Wow so I’ve had my longest hiatus yet from blogging, 5 months plus. There are numerous excuses, but most significantly:

  1. a damaged phone
  2. my computer somehow contracted an infamous virus, a nasty piece of randomware that effectively deleted all my files, causing much head and heartache
  3. holidaying in Japan
  4. being out of the habit of blogging and unsure of how to get back into it.

Technology has not been so kind to me of late, so forgive me while I ease myself back into the cyberworld. Nothing too intensive, just thought I’d share some of the sights and delights from Japan.

Fushimi Inari

Fushimi Inari

Kiyomizu-dera

Kiyomizu-dera

The pilgrimage to Kiyomizu-dera

The pilgrimage to Kiyomizu-dera

Kenrokuen in Kanazawa

Kenrokuen in Kanazawa

Shirakawago heritage listed village

Shirakawago heritage listed village

_MG_9418

Up close and personal with the houses in Shirakawago

Tsukiji fish market

Tsukiji fish market

Star Wars sculpture at the Sapporo Snow Festival

Star Wars sculpture at the Sapporo Snow Festival

Now it wouldn’t be a proper post from me without some food pics. Only a handful here because these were particularly memorable eats. (Just as a disclaimer, pretty much everything we ate in Japan was delicious. The food standard there is so high. It is so hard to go wrong when even the least impressive venue was serving up average to decent food.)

This matcha (powdered green tea) tart was memorable because it contained a delicious mochi (sticky rice cake) layer. Putting a thin slightly chewy layer of mochi in between mousse, cream, ganache and shortcrust is simply genius in my opinion. It adds a really interesting textural layer to the velvety tart. I love it. matchatartThis next one is quite odd; freshly fried crisps served with dark chocolate and soft serve. This was a big thing in Harajuku, there was a huge line for this product. We waited at least 15 minutes lining up to get this, but I don’t get the hype. Look, I get the salty sweet thing and I grew up dipping crisps into ice cream, but crisps with chocolate is just next level craziness for me.054 Lastly is one of those foods that make me really miss Japan; freshly extracted uni (sea urchin). Sweet and rich. The taste is just divine.P1050909 And with that sweet memory, I shall sign off for now. Until next time!

Posted in: MissC cooks