Chicken “noodle” salad

Posted on September 15, 2014

4


You know the other thing I like about spring? The move towards lighter eating. ‘Tis the season to munch on healthy salads and shed the excess weight gained during the hibernation months. I’m being extra good with this carb free chicken “noodle” salad. How is a noodle salad carb free you ask? Well…it’s not actually noodles I’m using in the salad, hence the inverted commas. It’s enoki mushrooms dressing up as a noodle, did I have you fooled?

IMG_9123

I love enoki; they’re my absolute favourite mushroom. They have quite a mild flavour, so it doesn’t really taste like much, but I adore their chewy texture. Perfect substitute for noodle in a light salad!

IMG_9111

The chicken used is just shredded meat from a whole poached chicken. You can cheat and use store bought poached chicken; I did. I just bought a plain poached chicken, commonly referred to as the “white cut chicken” or 白切雞, from my local Chinese roasting house. Soy poached chicken can also be used if preferred.

RECIPE – Chicken “noodle” salad (serves up to 4 as a light meal)

Ingredients:

  • Shredded meat from 1 small poached chicken
  • ~350g broccoli florets, washed
  • 1 pack (330g) enoki mushrooms, ends trimmed and rinsed
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon sesame oil
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 4-5 spring onions, chopped
  • salt and white pepper to taste
  • deep fried shallots, spring onions and coriander leaves for garnishing

Method:

  1. Blanch broccoli florets in boiling water until just tender (~20 seconds). Drain and reserve.
  2. Blanch enoki mushrooms in simmering water until wilted and tender (~30 seconds). Drain and reserve.
  3. Gently heat sesame oil in a small pan with garlic and spring onions until fragrant. Remove from heat.IMG_9114
  4. Place shredded chicken meat, broccoli and enoki into a large mixing bowl and season well with salt and ground white pepper. Pour over heated fragrant oil and toss to mix through.IMG_9117
  5. Garnish with deep fried shallots, spring onions and coriander leaves. Serve warm. (No coriander in my pictures because I had run out, but I would have used it if I had it!)IMG_9125

The sesame oil is so fragrant and inviting. As soon the smell of it heating started wafting through the house, a sticky beak started poking their head into the kitchen asking when dinner would be served. Such is its lure! And to complement the intense sesame undertones, freshness from the equally Chinese-y garlic and spring onion combination. Quick and easy way to turn take away food (ie. the poached chicken) into a healthy meal :). Hope you enjoy it.

