Quick tip for using Chinese broccoli (and regular broccoli) stalks

Posted on April 4, 2014

3


Just a quick entry because I haven’t really had the time to write. If you love eating Chinese broccoli (gai lan or 芥蘭) then you’re likely to have come up to the same problem as me sometimes; what to do with the uber thick stems?IMG_8465

The thick stems are annoying because obviously they would take longer to cook than the thinner stems and leaves. You either have to cook them for longer/in batches or trim them down. And sometimes those options just aren’t appealing.

What I like to do is take the thick stems and dice them into pea sized pieces to freeze into zip lock bags. If the stems are very thick (thicker than the ones photographed above), then you may need to peel them a little as the outer layer can be a bit woody. These little pieces are then treated exactly like frozen peas would be and thrown into fried rice or dishes to bulk up vegetable content. I also do the same thing with regular broccoli stems/stalks too. With regular broccoli, you will need to peel the stalk before dicing up because the outer part tends to be a little tough.

IMG_8466

I rarely stock frozen peas in my freezer because I do this. Broccoli stalks (both varieties) have more crunch than peas and are relatively tasteless enough to be thrown into any recipe without adverse effects on the final result, unless of course the recipe specifically requires peas to work. Do you already do something like this with stems/stalks? I’d love to hear how you use them. But in case you don’t have any ready uses for frozen broccoli stems, I’ll be posting a recipe that will make use of my diced stems shortly ;).

Posted in: MissC thoughts