Toblerone cheesecake

Posted on March 22, 2014

2


I’m actually not a huge fan of cheesecakes. So it’s a little ironic that I often find myself making cheesecake, purely because some of my nearest and dearest happen to love it. If I had to choose a cheesecake to eat, this would be my pick because the Toblerone takes away some of the cheesiness. Which I guess is probably counter intuitive for many cheesecake lovers, but just go along with me here, it’s actually a pretty good cake. The cheesecake lover of the household certainly made no complaints when presented with it!

IMG_8407

The reason for this cake is due to an oversupply of Toblerone (and chocolate more generally) in the house. As much as I love Toblerone, 800g is a bit of an overkill. Plus I’m still making my way through all the chocolates from Christmas and new years. I’m acutely aware that about 3 months have lapsed since the holiday period, but that just goes to show how much chocolate I’ve acquired.

IMG_8394

Dear family and friends, I know you supply me with chocolate out of love, but you may inadvertently be sentencing me to death by chocolate! Please help me eat some! Love MissC.

So what better way to get rid of all this chocolate than to stash it into a type of cake that I’m not terribly fond of, but other people love? This way, I achieve a number of things:

  1. I use up the chocolate
  2. Demonstrates generosity since I’m making this cake in spite of my nonchalance towards cheesecakes
  3. I’m less inclined to eat it

Evil mastermind in the making right here! Muahahahah

My recipe here will differ a little from the other more common/popular recipes out there because I use less cream cheese, replacing some of the bulk with whipped cream. I feel this makes the cake a touch lighter and a little mousse like in texture. This recipe also omits sugar because really there isn’t a need for it, milk chocolate is sweet enough as it is. However if you decide use more cream cheese in your version, then you may need to consider adding sugar to counterbalance the extra cheese.

IMG_8408

RECIPE – Toblerone cheesecake (makes 20cm cake)

Ingredients:

  • 125g (half a packet) Chocolate Ripple biscuits (or other plain chocolate cookie)
  • 1 tablespoon melted butter
  • 250g cream cheese, at room temperature
  • 250mL thickened cream
  • 200g Toblerone milk chocolate
  • extra ~80g Toblerone grated for garnish

Method:

  1. In a food processor, blitz Chocolate Ripple biscuits until they become fine crumbs. Add in melted butter and blitz again to combine. Pour crumb mixture into a 20cm springform tin. Press crumbs into the base of the tin. Chill covered in refrigerator while you prepare the other ingredients.
  2. Melt 200g of Toblerone via the double boiler method. Break Toblerone into smaller pieces and place into a medium heat proof bowl. Balance bowl on top of a small pot of boiling water, making sure that the base of the bowl does not touch the water. Stir occasionally with a rubber spatula until melted. Remove from heat and reserve.IMG_8396
  3. Beat cream cheese with an electric mixer until smooth. Beat in melted Toblerone.IMG_8397
  4. In a new bowl, whip thickened cream until stiff peaks form. Fold whipped cream into Toblerone and cheese mixture (in 2 batches).IMG_8399
  5. Pour into prepared crumbed tin and refrigerate covered overnight.
  6. Run a knife along the perimeter of the tin to dislodge cake before releasing springform and removing.IMG_8401
  7. Garnish with curls of shaved Toblerone.IMG_8417

Pretty easy cake to make. No baking involved, and still rather impressive at the table. Taste wise, it has been given a thumbs up from cheesecake lovers and non cheesecake lovers alike (study sample size = 6 so far). But you be the judge.

Posted in: Cakes, MissC cooks, Sweets