Coffee nut loaf

Posted on November 26, 2013

4


A friend recently accused me of being unable to follow a recipe, pointing to the pool of evidence embedded in this very blog where I tweak this or tweak that whenever I mention a recipe. It was with mock outrage that I tried to defend myself, surely I can follow instructions! In fact, I had actually set out to write this post with the aim of proving her wrong, only to prove her right – it is true, I cannot follow a recipe.

Even after picking a very easy recipe from the Women’s Weekly Bake book with the intention of following it to the tee, I just couldn’t do it. I have perfectly good reasons though…see the original recipe was for a coffee walnut loaf, but after my er…callous addition of walnuts to my double choc cookies earlier this month, I had but a mere handful of walnuts left at home. Of course, this necessitated a substitution of the nut to be used. Then I figured, if I was going to change one aspect of the recipe, I may as well change a couple of other things too. And so this is how I got to this coffee nut loaf cake 🙂

IMG_7676

A touch less sweet than the original and with more nutty goodness. I was also too lazy to make the coffee icing suggested to go on this cake. The excuse being that I made this cake on a weeknight, the extra effort it takes to ice a cake is typically reserved for weekends. I personally don’t miss the icing plus I think it’s a bit of a shame of cover the loaf, its rustic simplicity is rather nice.

Coffee nut loaf

Based on recipe found on page 176, Australian Women’s Weekly (2008), Bake

Ingredients:

  • 125g butter cut into cubes
  • 200g (~1 cup) caster sugar
  • 125mL milk
  • 2 tablespoons instant coffee
  • 220g (~1 1/3 cups) self raising flour sifted
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon sifted
  • 2 eggs lightly beaten
  • 100g roasted hazelnuts, roughly chopped
  • handful of walnuts for decorating (optional)

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 160°C. Grease and line a loaf tin (approx. 23cm x 13cm) with baking paper.
  2. Place butter, sugar, milk and instant coffee into a medium saucepan and gently melt over medium heat until sugar has dissolved and it becomes a uniformly smooth mixture. Remove from heat and allow to cool slightly.
  3. Add sifted flour and cinnamon into butter mixture and combine. Add in beaten eggs and mix well.
  4. Fold in chopped hazelnuts.IMG_7668
  5. Pour batter into prepared loaf tin. To decorate cake, line walnuts in a single file along the centre of the loaf. IMG_7669
  6. Bake for ~45 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean.IMG_7672

A simple treat to enjoy warm with a cup of coffee. Being a butter cake, it is a little dense, but not too heavy and the crumb is still quite moist. With the reduced sugar, no icing and its loaf shape, it is almost like a coffee bread rather than cake. Would it be so naughty if I was to treat it like bread and have it for breakfast..?

IMG_7680

Oh and I do eventually plan to prove that I can follow a recipe, but in the meantime I’d rather make a recipe fit me than the other way around.

