Tuna patties recipe

Posted on September 12, 2013

5


This is going to be another quick fish and potato recipe to add to my collection (previous ones here and here) because I obviously love pairing these two things together.

A friend and I use to regularly have ‘tuna patty lunches’ because we really liked the ones our local cafe made. She’s since relocated to London, so I no longer have a tuna patty lunch buddy. Funnily enough, on her last visit back to Melbourne, we ended up having a tuna patty lunch by chance and as a matter of convenience. I think that’s just about sealed our friendship fate; we will forever associate each other with tuna patties! Anyhow the point of this little story is to say that nowadays I fulfill my tuna patty cravings by making my own because they are so very easy to make :).

IMG_7027

There’s no real rule to making these patties, you could up the amount of tuna if you wanted a bit more protein. I happen to have used the amount I did in the below recipe because that was all I had in the pantry. As a general rule I would use 1 small can of tuna (85g) per person. You could introduce other vegetable matter into the patties as well; corn kernels, peas and shredded carrot all work. I’ve used them all in one combination or another in the past. If you do decide to add more tuna and incorporate extra vegetables too, you may need to add an extra egg and/or increase the amount of potatoes to ensure there is enough binder for the patties to hold shape.

RECIPE – Tuna patties (makes 6, serves 3-4 people)

Ingredients:

  • ~600g potatoes, peeled and chopped
  • 3 cans of 85g tuna in springwater, drained
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 bunch of coriander, washed and roughly chopped
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/3 cup breadcrumbs
  • oil for cooking

Method:

  1. Submerge chopped potatoes in a large pot of water. Bring to boil, then reduce to a simmer until potatoes have cooked through and are tender. Remove from heat, drain potatoes and mash them. Leave to cool to room temperature.IMG_7018
  2. Once cooled, add tuna, egg, coriander, mustard and seasoning to the mashed potatoes and combine well.tunapatties
  3. Divide mixture into 6 equal portions and shape into a patty.
  4. Coat patties with an even layer of breadcrumbs. IMG_7025
  5. To cook, heat enough oil on a frying pan to cover the base thinly. Fry patties on medium heat until they are golden (~3 minutes each side).
  6. Serve immediately with lemon mayo and a side of greens.IMG_7026

This recipe can be made a day or 2 in advance, kept covered in the refrigerator. My tip for being ultra organised is to whip up a batch of these on the weekend, keep it in the fridge to cook up for a super easy weeknight dinner or to bring as your work lunch. Anything that makes weeknights easier is a winner for me.

