Kitchen mistakes – how do you fix them?

Posted on July 6, 2013

0


Sometimes it feels a bit disingenuous to only blog about the cooking that I’ve been relatively successful with. Kitchen mistakes are bound to happen, and I am no stranger to them. When I first dabbled in cooking, I had very spectacular mistakes. So spectacular that the food was inedible. But you know, live and learn. Thankfully I’m mostly past having epic failures now. I still make mistakes, but usually they can be saved. Sometimes you’ve just go to think outside of the box a little to make ‘lemonade from lemons’ as they say.

See I’d recently overcooked my little gingerbread cupcakes and was pretty bummed. Instead of fluffy little cakes, mine turned out dry and tough. Ugh! They even photographed badly!

IMG_6857

It is too wasteful to throw them out, but there was no way I was going to give these cupcakes to family and friends, nor could I eat 20 of these things on my own. So I decided it turn it into a layered dessert, pretty much play on tiramisu, but with different flavourings. I cut the cupcakes in half and soaked them in about a bit of Cointreau (orange flavoured liqueur).

IMG_6860

The cream mixture I usually use for tiramisu is 1:1:0.5:0.25. That is 1 small tub each of mascarpone (250g) and thickened cream (300mL), 1/2 a cup of caster sugar and 1/4 cup of coffee liqueur. In this case, I replaced the coffee liqueur with Cointreau.

Alternate layers of soaked cake and cream and refrigerate for at least 3-4 hours to let the cream soften the cake further and for the flavours to meld. Boom! Dry and tough cupcakes saved. From something I wouldn’t feed my loved ones, to a recipe that I’ve been asked to replicate again. 🙂

IMG_6852

How do you save your kitchen mistakes? And if you haven’t tried saving a cooking flop before, I hope this inspires you to. Happy cooking.

