Yarra Valley in winter

Posted on June 24, 2013

1


How cold has it been recently? My little outdoor thermometer has been registering only 2°C when I wake up in the morning – and I usually get up after the sun is out! Brrr…

It’s so easy to miss summer and resent the cold. Who isn’t longing for the return of more sun and warm nights? But I quite like our colder months. I like rugging up in multiple layers of winter fashion. I like the cozy warmth of scarves, beanies and boots. I like fireplaces. I like the rain. I also find the countryside really lovely this time of the year, it’s so lush and green. Perfect excuse for a little day trip out to the beautiful Yarra Valley with a good friend and some tag alongs :P.

IMG_6793

Every time I get out to that part of the world, there are a couple of wineries I always visit. Not necessarily because I’m particularly fond of their wines, more because I love walking around their grounds. Yerling Station (38 Melba Highway, Yarra Glen VIC) is one such example. It’s such a pretty place, and if coming from Melbourne, it’s pretty much at the gateway to the Yarra Valley wine region. Coincide your visit with the 3rd Sunday of each month and there’s even a local farmer’s market to browse around at. Win.

IMG_6781

The market is open from 9am to 2pm where you can expect to find locally grown and made produce in and around the barn. The coffee stand is also pretty good and a few very tempting food stands if you don’t have any lunch plans booked in.

We gave the market food a miss since we had lunch already booked at Zonzo (957 Healsville-Yarra Glen Road, Yarra Glen VIC). I could review Zonzo, but it’s just easier to point to you the post my friend’s already written on it. I share her opinion anyway.

IMG_6797

See that’s another thing to like about winter. There’s less guilt associated with boozing at lunch and gorging on pizza; it’s not being indulgent, it’s our fortitude against the cold! 😉

Posted in: MissC travels