Apple berry crumble recipe

Posted on May 23, 2013

2


I always find it a little disappointing going fruit shopping in the colder months; many of my favourite fruits have disappeared off the shelves and there’s not all that much in season. Apples however are in abundance over the autumn months. I suppose they are a good fruit to cook with, which is useful seeing how the cold makes me crave warm desserts.

This apple berry crumble is super easy to make. Unlike other recipes, I don’t bother stewing the apples beforehand. It’s just chopped, topped with crumble then thrown into the oven. Less work and I like that the apple still holds some shape and isn’t too mushy on the palate. Sugar isn’t added to the fruit mix, so the result is quite tart. I personally like this sharp contrast with the sweet crumble, but if you have a sweeter tooth than I, it’s an easy fix, just add a tablespoon or 2 of caster sugar to the fruit.

IMG_6611

RECIPE – Apple berry crumble (fills 6 medium ramekins)

IMG_6625

Ingredients:

  • 2 large Granny Smith apples
  • 1 cup mixed berries (frozen or fresh)
  • juice of 1 lemon

Crumble:

  • 50g butter chopped
  • 1/2 cup plain flour
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup chopped hazelnuts (walnuts or almonds would be a nice substitute)
  • 1/4 desiccated coconut

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 180ºC.
  2. To make crumble, pulse butter and flour in a food processor until it resembles fine breadcrumbs. You could also use your fingers to rub butter into the flour to achieve the same texture. Then mix in remaining ingredients.IMG_6606
  3. Peel, core and dice apples. Toss diced apples in a bowl and mix well with lemon juice. Add in a cup of mixed berries. (It’s not sugar in the below photograph, it’s ice crystals from my frozen berries…)IMG_6608
  4. Divide fruit mixture evenly into 6 medium ramekins. Top fruit mixture with crumble.IMG_6609
  5. Place in hot oven for about 30 minutes or until the crumble has turned a light golden brown.
  6. Serve warm – best with a scoop of ice cream.IMG_6614

Easy enough to whip up on a weeknight, and it’s not too naughty either. You could even argue that it’s rather healthy; there’s fruit, grains and nuts! That’s what I’ll be telling myself as I go for a second serve…

