Green tea and chocolate tart recipe

Posted on March 28, 2013

5


Green tea and chocolate is a beautiful marriage of bitter and sweet. My first encounter with this combination was almost a decade ago in Hong Kong when a friend and I found and fell in love with Meiji’s matcha green tea “MeltyKiss”. MeltyKiss is Meiji’s line of chocolate truffles. These truffles are delectable; a velvety smooth concoction of green tea and chocolate. I still giggle when I think back about the boxes upon boxes of MeltyKisses we unpacked and stuffed into our luggage.

Photo courtesy of http://asiansnacksblog.blogspot.com.au/2011/02/japan-candy-review-meiji-meltykiss.htmlAlso see that page for a description and review of this product.

Photo courtesy of http://asiansnacksblog.blogspot.com.au/2011/02/japan-candy-review-meiji-meltykiss.html
Also visit link for a description and review of this product.

It’s now sold here in Melbourne at selected Asian grocers, but has quite a mark up compared to overseas so I tend to refrain from this indulgence. My darling friend from Hong Kong still remembers that it’s a favourite of mine and insists on bringing me boxes of this stuff whenever she comes back to Melbourne for a visit. In return, I bring her boxes of Shapes when visiting the Orient. I’m open to expanding my international junk food exchange ring to include members from other parts of the world; more than happy to trade Tim Tams for some Speculoos (Lotus brand preferred). I discovered Speculoos in France a few years ago when it was served with my coffee, and loved it so much I took a photo of the wrapper just so I could find it in the shops! I’m beyond saving, I know. My traveling companion just rolled their eyes when I took the following picture.

speculoos

But back to the topic; green tea and chocolate. It goes together like how coffee and chocolate does, but I like even more because it offers a vibrant colour contrast. Tan on brown is nice, but how wicked does green on brown look? Also, this green tea and chocolate tart is in a way, an ode to my Hong Kong friend and our bond through junk food. This particular flavour combination because she knows how much I love it, and its reincarnation in tart form because last time she visited I made a chocolate tart that her husband loved and devoured.

IMG_6356

Tarts commonly have a pastry base, but being super lazy, I opted to make a much simpler biscuit crust with a childhood favourite of mine – Choc Ripple biscuits. Not sure if Choc Ripple biscuits are available outside of Australia, but you could easily substitute them for another plain chocolate biscuit/cookie.

IMG_6332

For the green tea custard filling, I followed the recipe from Kauli.com. Quality matcha powder is pretty pricey, but it is worth the money since a little goes a long way, and you will taste the difference. The cheaper brands will have less flavour intensity, so you will need to use more of it to achieve the same taste. The one I usually buy comes in a 30g tin and costs ~$7 at the Asian grocers.

matchapowder

RECIPE – Green tea and chocolate tart (makes 23cm tart)

Ingredients:

  • 200g Choc Ripple biscuits (or other plain chocolate biscuits/cookies)
  • 35g of softened butter
  • 350mL thickened cream
  • 60g caster sugar
  • 6g of matcha green tea powder
  • small pinch of salt
  • 70mL milk
  • 2 whole eggs and 1 extra yolk, lightly beaten

Method:

  1. In a food processor, process Choc Ripple biscuits into fine crumbs. Add in softened butter and pulse until well combined and the crumbs are moist.
  2. Using your hands, or the back of a spoon, press biscuit crumbs into the base and sides of a 23cm loose bottom tart tin. Place in refrigerator to set for at least 1hr.IMG_6336
  3. In the meantime, place cream, sugar, green tea powder and salt in a medium saucepan and bring to a boil. While the cream is heating up, whisk mixture until green tea powder has dissolved into the cream. Once the cream comes to boil, remove from heat and allow to cool to room temperature.
  4. Preheat oven to 180°C.
  5. Once the cream mixture has cooled to room temperature, stir in milk and beaten eggs.
  6. Remove tart base from the fridge and place onto a baking tray (this will make it easier to transport in and out of the oven once you pour in the custard). Pour custard mixture into prepared tart base and place into oven. Bake for ~25 minutes or until custard has set. The custard will swell in the oven, but will shrink back when set and removed from oven.IMG_6346
  7. Allow tart to cool completely before dusting with cocoa powder and serving.IMG_6354

Don’t you just love the colours? The sides are sweet and crunchy, and the custard is smooth with a rich bitter sweetness. Best enjoyed with a cup of green tea to reinforce the flavours.

