Creamy mango sorbet recipe

Posted on January 4, 2013

1


One of the best things about summer is the fruits and vegetables that come into season. Some of my all time favourites become available: cherries, berries, grapes, watercress, avocado, cherries, lychees, watermelon, beans, eggplant, sweetcorn, mango, cherries, longan, rambutan…I could go on and on. Loving the onslaught of summer fruit and veg! The only downside I see is that sometimes I get too greedy and buy more than I can possibly eat. This kind of explains why I have 4 over ripe mangoes sitting in the fridge looking increasingly sad by the day. What to do?

P1040300Turn it into sorbet of course ;). I had been meaning to try sorbet out in my ice cream maker; it’s almost like the universe is telling me that this is the time to do it. And how’s this for meeting my one and only new year’s resolution?! I promise this is a genuine sorbet recipe, only fruit and a light sugar syrup was used, no diary, so it’s completely vegan friendly. The light hint of creaminess comes from another beloved tropical fruit product of mine: coconut milk.

P1040307Buying canned coconut milk/cream can be a bit of confusing. If you’ve ever looked at the back a can that specifies the coconut content, you’ll know that the percentage of coconut in milk or cream varies vastly between brands. Coconut milk can vary between 15-60% coconut content and coconut cream tends to be anything upwards of 50%. My rule of thumb is generally anything around 30-50% coconut I consider as milk, and for coconut cream I look for above 75% coconut content. And below 30% coconut content is what I call murky water! For this particular recipe I used the TCC brand of coconut milk which has 53% coconut extract. You can always mix a bit of water into coconut cream to turn it into milk. I also try to look for brands that have the least amount of ingredients, you don’t need unnecessary additives like emulsifiers or thickeners in coconut milk/cream. Just coconut and water if possible (citric acid in the TCC brand I let slide).

RECIPE – Creamy mango sorbet (makes ~700mL, this will depend on the size of your mangoes)

Ingredients:

  • Flesh of 4 ripe mangoes
  • 1/4 cup of sugar
  • 1/2 cup of water
  • 1/3 cup of coconut milk (53% coconut extract)

Method:

  1. Place sugar and water in a small saucepan and bring to a simmer. Once all the sugar has dissolved, remove from heat and allow to cool completely. (Note: this is a dilute sugar syrup using a 0.5:1 sugar to water ratio. The resulting sorbet is only mildly sweet, if you want a sweeter sorbet, use a 0.75:1 or 1:1 ratio)
  2. Blend mango flesh into a smooth puree. Strain to remove fibrous bits.
  3. Mix mango puree thoroughly with cooled sugar syrup and coconut milk. Cover mixture and refrigerate overnight.
  4. Once chilled through, churn fruit mixture in your ice cream maker according to your ice cream maker’s instructions. Generally a 20 minute churn will be sufficient for most domestic grade ice cream maker models. Once the sorbet thickens to a consistency of your desire, turn off the machine, transfer sorbet into an airtight container and freeze for at least 3 hours.P1040305
  5. If you don’t have an ice cream maker handy, you can freeze the mixture and manually stir the semi frozen sorbet every 3-4 hours to break up the ice crystals. However this method will deliver you a slightly grainier/icier end result than if churned through a machine.P1040306

This creamy sorbet is yummy. The fresh burst of mango is mellowed out by the hint of creaminess and the presence of coconut is just enough to suggest complexity without departing from the primary mango flavour. Reminds me of those Weis mango bars! Hope this recipe helps you stay cool in the heat wave folks.

