Smashed meringue and salted caramel swirl ice cream recipe

Posted on December 31, 2012

3


We’re finally here! The last day of 2012, and I’m so excited the year is coming to an end. Don’t get me wrong, 2012 has been an amazing year, but I just can’t wait for 2013 to start. The past year has been full of big events and traveling – 9 weddings, 3 overseas trips and all the birthdays and other things in between. Yup, 9 weddings and 3 exits out of Oz! It was great fun and there has been some really fantastic moments, but as you might be able to deduce, it has also been very exhausting. My liver has been abused, my food baby is approaching full term and I just want to be able to sleep a weekend away! So yes, I’m really looking forward to some down time in the new year. To start me off on the right foot, I’m welcoming 2013 in a very low key way; just a small bbq with some close ones. How’s everyone else celebrating?

While my new year’s eve is a little event, it doesn’t mean my food needs to be shy. The dessert I’m celebrating with has a big bang of flavour. Meringue pieces and salted caramel swirl ice cream – how’s that for a party in your mouth?

smashedmeringuesaltedcaramel

Ok so this is a bit of a cheat’s recipe because I didn’t really make the ice cream myself. Shock horror. I know I know, why on earth did I buy supermarket ice cream when I own an ice cream maker? P1040271Because:

  1. It’s the holidays – I’ve been cooking so much for so many people in the last week (including making 3 batches of different flavoured ice creams), I think my ice cream maker and I deserve a well earned break!
  2. It’s next to impossible to conjure up ice cream in under a day in summer! The custard needs to be chilled overnight before it can be churned.

But I needed to do something with my leftover mini pavlovas and salted caramel sauce (they were used in 2 separate desserts last week – I wasn’t kidding when I said I’d been busy in the kitchen), and mixing it into ice cream seemed like the easiest and very tasty option. The combination goes together better than I had hoped. It’s not too sweet and the saltiness of the caramel pairs quite nicely with the crushed meringue bits. I figured store bought ice cream is ok since I embellish it with bits of my own cooking. Can you tell the pavlovas were my way of getting rid of stray egg whites from the exhaustive custard making? New years resolution for 2013 is to stop making custard based ice creams and move onto sorbets!

leftovermeringue

RECIPE – Smashed meringue and salted caramel swirl ice cream

Ingredients:

  • 1L vanilla ice cream
  • ~1 cup smashed meringue pieces (see here for my pistachio meringue recipe, the nuts are optional in this case)
  • ~1 cup salted caramel sauce (this is a very good approximation of how I made my sauce, although I used the dry caramel method instead and used a bit more cream)

Method:

  1. Allow ice cream to soften out of the fridge (about 20 minutes in warm weather, 60 minutes for colder weather).
  2. Scoop softened ice cream into large mixing bowl, mix in smashed meringue pieces and salted caramel sauce.
  3. Refreeze in the original ice cream packaging(or airtight container) for at least 60 minutes before serving.

Yum! This is my sweet ending for what has been a very decadent year. Hope you have a fantastic new year, catch you in 2013 :).

