Ginger and pear cake recipe

Posted on August 10, 2012

0


Despite the retailers ramping up their summer advertising campaigns and the gloriously sunny days we’ve had, winter still feels like it’s in full swing. And is it just me, or is it especially cold this year? That, or age is really beginning to get the better of me. In any case, there is an upside to the cold; hot desserts.

Sticky date pudding is one of my favourites, and this ginger and pear cake rather reminds me of it. I chose to make a pear cake because it’s in season and I’d somehow amassed quite a few at home. The ginger and other spicy notes make for a divine smelling cake and really adds to its warming characteristics. The recipe I used is from the Gourmet Traveller,  however I used an angel cake tin instead of a regular round tin. It’s suggested to serve the cake with some clotted cream. Too bad I didn’t have any in the house and I was even out of ice cream! Hopefully you’d be more prepared than I was.

RECIPE – Ginger and pear cake

(Original recipe from from the Gourmet Traveller)

Ingredients:

Pear syrup

  • 1-2 large pears cored and thickly sliced
  • 100g butter
  • 125g brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup thickened cream

Cake

  • 125g softened butter
  • 125g brown sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup treacle
  • 3 cups plain flour
  • 1 teaspoon bicarbonate soda
  • 2 tablespoon ground ginger
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 cup buttermilk

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 160°C. Butter and line base of your cake tin with baking paper.
  2. In a large pan, melt 100g of butter and 125g of brown sugar over medium heat. Add sliced pears and cook until pears have softened.
  3. Remove pears and arrange onto the base of your cake tin. Reserve syrup in pan for later use.
  4. Cream 125g butter and 125g brown sugar until light and creamy. Add treacle and eggs one at a time. Beat until well combined.
  5. In a separate bowl, sift all dry ingredients together. Add a third of the flour mixture to the batter and mix well.
  6. Alternate between adding a third of the buttermilk and flour to the batter and mix well.
  7. Ensure that the last addition is flour and mix until just combined.
  8. Pour mixture over pears and bake for ~70-80 minutes, or until an inserted skewer comes out clean.
  9. Turn over cake onto plate and allow to cool slightly.
  10. While the cake is cooling, heat reserved syrup on medium and whisk in 1/3 cup of cream until combined.
  11. To serve, spoon syrup over cake with a dollop of clotted cream. Best eaten warm.

Really yummy cake and I love the smell of it cooking wafting through the house. It’s lingering and exactly how I’d  imagine a country cottage to smell like in winter. Warms my heart and my belly.

Posted in: Cakes, MissC cooks, Sweets