Coriander and chilli scrambled eggs recipe

Posted on August 8, 2012

1


It’s Sunday morning and you’re feeling super lazy. Getting dressed to go out feels like a daunting task, but the hunger pangs are getting worse. What to do? My solution is to whip up an easy eggy breakfast for munching on the couch.

A friend of a friend grows beautiful coriander in their garden and I’m lucky enough to be a beneficiary of this every so often. Here’s a big bunch I’d recently received.

I hate to admit it, but when it comes to plants, I have the death touch. I haven’t managed to keep any of my pot plants alive and even fresh herbs don’t like to be around me for too long, so it’s best I use up these goodies as soon as possible. Thanks to my breakfast at the Happy River Cafe, I’ve been inspired to use coriander in my morning eggs.

RECIPE – Coriander and chilli scrambled eggs (serves 1)

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs plus 1 yolk (I had leftover yolk from my recent meringue endevours, you could just use 3 whole eggs)
  • 1 tablespoon cream
  • handful of coriander chopped
  • 1/2 bird’s eye chilli chopped (you can de-seed if you don’t like heat in the mornings)
  • salt and pepper for seasoning
  • knob of butter
  • oil for cooking

Method:

  1. Whisk eggs with cream. Season with salt and pepper and mix thoroughly.
  2. In a pan, heat up some oil and melt butter on low to medium heat. Ensure the butter coats all areas of the pan.
  3. Pour in egg mixture and add coriander and chilli.
  4. With a wooden spoon, gently push the egg from the sides of the pan towards the centre to create the curds.
  5. When the egg mixture is about 60-70% cooked, turn off the heat. The residue heat from the pan will continue to cook the eggs for a little longer and ensures they won’t be covercooked.
  6. Serve on toasted sourdough with sliced avocado.

All this done in less time than it takes me to get dressed. If the flurry of action in the kitchen doesn’t give you a renewed energy boost, the chilli kick in the eggs definitely will!

Posted in: MissC cooks, Savories