Salmon and potato cakes with truffle oil recipe

Posted on April 10, 2012

1


Contrary to my new year’s resolution, I’ve been a bit lazy lately and haven’t taken due notice of my mishaps around the kitchen. These days I’ve mostly been throwing things together to make meals here and there, and my camera seems to have been relegated to some drawer in a dark corner of the house. Being somewhat conscious of this, I am trying to come to a happy medium, so here goes. A word of warning first though, the below recipe uses very approximate quantities, but honestly, it’s a just a slightly glammed up potato rosti, so it’s very forgiving and the ratios can be tweaked to preferred amounts. I’m sure the recipe isn’t very original, but I can’t really credit anyone for it either because the idea did come to me on my own one day. It’s a marriage of four of my much loved foods: potato, salmon, egg and truffle. And by golly, don’t those ingredients go so beautifully together? Sometimes it’s the simplest things that make me smile.

RECIPE – Salmon and potato cakes with truffle oil (makes 10-12)

Ingredients:

  • ~800g potatoes
  • ~300g salmon fillet (you could cheat and use canned salmon)
  • 1 teaspoon white truffle oil (optional. If I had actual truffle handy, I would have used that instead.)
  • 2 eggs lightly beaten
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • oil for cooking

Method:

  1. Fill a medium saucepan 3/4 to brim and bring to a simmer. Place salmon into simmering water and poach for ~5mins then turn off the heat, allowing the salmon to cool in the water. (Don’t fret if the salmon is still pink in the centre, you’re going to cook it again anyway.)
  2. While the fish is cooking, peel and grate potatoes. Squeeze out water from grated potatoes before combining with beaten eggs.
  3. Remove salmon from poaching liquid and flake flesh off into the egg and potato mixture. Combine well and lastly add in seasoning and truffle oil.
  4. Heat up a fry pan on medium to high with a thin layer of oil. When the oil reaches smoking point, spoon one heaped tablespoon of mixture onto pan and flatten out into a disc. Ensure there is sufficient room between each cake and cook for ~2-3 minutes on each side.
  5. Drain on paper towels and repeat process until mixture is used up. Best eaten immediately.

I think this would make quite a nice lunch dish if served with a fresh side salad and perhaps some slices of creamy avocado as well. Otherwise, do as I did, and munch on these while sitting in front of the TV. Crunchy bits of potato and delicate salmon flakes encased in a lovely aroma of white truffle. Talk about funkedafied fish and chips for a Friday night. Bliss.

