Andy’s Yum Cha House

Posted on January 20, 2012

1


I’m in two minds about writing this post; I believe in the sharing of good food, but at the same time, I don’t want this venue to be overwhelmed – they’re busy enough on Friday and Saturday nights as it is. Believe me, their rating on Urban Spoon is high enough as it is without me adding my 2 cents worth. Hmm so perhaps this post won’t do any harm afterall…and it is timely to write about this place given that Chinese New Year is here!

So without further ado, I give you Andy’s Yum Cha House (13 Napier Street, Essendon VIC). It is such an unassuming place. It’s not your typical yumcha offering in your typical Chinese restaurant. Quite the opposite actually. It is just a small shop front on a rather plain suburban strip, seating not much more than 20 diners. It quite literally is just a mum and dad operation that happens to serve up a yumcha menu day and night, 6 days a week (closed Monday).

Suburban Chinese food – I know what you’re thinking. But hold those prejudices aside and you shall be greatly rewarded here. The food at Andy’s is pretty authentic and the most important thing; it’s good! The stand out is that all their food is cooked to order. Made to order yumcha. Does that not blow your mind already? Unlike the usual trolley fare dished up around Melbourne, these dim sum offerings are served to your table fresh and piping hot! None of those insipid tasting dim sums that’s already done about 3 rounds of the floor before it reaches you, these babies are hot off the stove and coming just for you.

The result is delicious. They don’t cut any corners here, the fillings are true to the original and very tasty. To demonstrate, I have noticed that at least one of the restaurants in Chinatown has been slowly replacing shitake mushrooms with your garden variety button mushrooms in their dim sum fillings; that’s tantamount to blasphemy! Fret not, for Andy will not let this happen on his watch. Everything is made on the premises, so you’ll have to appreciate a slightly reduced menu. But what you lose in variety, you will gain back in flavour and besides all the usual suspects are there. What can you complain about?

I have read some bad reviews regarding their service, but having been there twice, I think I can wholeheartedly disagree. The service is as efficient as it can be, they are only a small operation with an a la carte menu, so in all fairness you can’t expect fast food. We’ve had no problems with service, they were friendly and food came out in a reasonable time. I have no hesitation going back and it has now become my favourite yumcha venue in Melbourne.

