Frenchy French toast recipe

Posted on January 16, 2012

5


Oh how I wish I could claim credit for the invention of Frenchy French toast, but unfortunately not, this is an idea I’ve shamelessly borrowed. It was back in the dark ages (ie. before I acquired a decent digital camera and discovered Urban Spoon), it was a causal brunch with a friend that we stumbled upon a random cafe in the less happenin’ area of St Kilda. I don’t even remember the name of the cafe, or if I even bothered to take note of its name. As for its location, that is another unknown as my friend led me there on a short stroll from her then residence. After some recent research though, I believe it may have been Dwezzil Cafe, which doesn’t appear to exist anymore. I think it’s since changed ownership and is now Baby Louey (172 Charlisle Street, St Kilda VIC), but I can’t be sure.

How times have changed though, nowadays, we can always be sure of where we eat. With the city’s feverish fascination with food and Urban Spoon at our fingertips (via our smart phones of course), we always know where and what we’re eating. It’s a rare occasion that I won’t know anything about the venue I’m dining at. And that saddens me a bit. I liked just stumbling into random places and unearthing little gems for myself. So here comes another new year resolution from me; to ‘stumble’ more.

Anyhow I digress, it was there at Dwezzil (I think) that I encountered Frenchy French toast about 6 or even 7 or 8 (?) years ago. I didn’t know what  to expect of Frenchy French toast to be honest. I thought it was just a cute name for their French toast. But when the dish appeared, it dawned on me why this French toast was so ‘Frenchy’. They used a croissant instead of toast! Bloody genius! Why hasn’t anyone else thought of this idea? It was the simplest of changes, but it made an already awesome food even better. Like I said, genius.

Perfect dish to serve when you want to impress your breakfast guest(s). It looks good, tastes fantastic and is fuss free to make.

RECIPE – Frenchy French toast (serves 2)

Ingredients

  • 2 full sized croissants (the supermarket branded packs are fine, you’re going to be cooking it anyway)
  • 3 large eggs

Method

  1. Beat eggs in bowl.
  2. Cut croissant into 4 pieces like so, and dip into egg mixture.
  3. Heat up a non stick fry pan on medium heat. The beauty about using the non stick pan is that you don’t need to use any oil. Of course you can use oil if you wish, and likewise you can use a conventional fry pan, but I figure there’s already enough butter in the croissants and my waist really doesn’t need any more fat.
  4. Place the croissant on the pan with the inside bit facing down and cook for 3-4 minutes. Flip and cook the outside bits for about 2-3 minutes. The spongier inside bits will absorb most of the egg mixture and thus needs to be cooked longer.

To serve, arrange on plate with some fried bacon rashers and a generous drizzle of pure maple syrup (making it more of a ‘Frenchy/Canadian French toast’ now). If you’re not into the bacon with maple syrup thing then omit the bacon and serve with some cut up fruit, banana will work well. But seriously, give the maple bacon a try. I even managed to convert a very firm believer from the “meat/bacon is savory” parade. You won’t regret it!

